Carat Weight

The weight or size is measured by carat, and 1 carat=.2 gram. Diamonds that are larger than 1 carat would have a further description of its weight to the second decimal point. Normally, the price would increase when the diamond is bigger.



The clarity of diamond has been divided into two parts: Outer part and Inner particles. In order to rank the clarity of the diamonds, it is necessary to look through the diamond both in and out. Normally speaking, diamonds that have a higher clarity would have a higher prize.

Ranks of Clarity:

IF > Inclusions couldn’t be seen under 10x magnifier
VVS1 - VVS2 > Inclusions are hard to seen under 10x magnifier
VS1 - VS2 > Small inclusions, and inclusions are relatively easy to be seen under 10x magnifier
SI1 - SI2 > Inclusions can be easily seen under 10x magnifier
I1 - I2 - I3 > Inclusions are clear for appraisers and inclusions could be seen with naked eye. 


Diamonds that are used in jewelries usually have different colors that are usually categorized from colorless to yellow.

Colorless diamonds that are most expensive are ranked in D E F, and the color are ranked until Z. If the diamond has a heavier color than rank Z, or it appears to be orange pink or blue, the diamond would be identified as colored diamond.

Moreover, colored diamond would be classified in different fields such as color, Chroma, and tone to rank colored diamonds. 

Faint | Very Light | Light | Fancy Light
Fancy | Fancy Intense | Fancy Dark
Fancy Deep | Fancy Vivid



Multiple cutting technology are used when making minerals into gems. The curviness, deepness, width and neatness would be important factors on the shine of diamonds.

We would rank the cut of diamonds into ranks lay below:
EX (Excellent)
VG (Very Good)
G (Good)
F (Fair)
P (Poor)